If you love The Hunger Games…

With all this hype circling around The Hunger Games, I decided I had to read the books. Who was Katniss and why was everyone talking about her? What was so great about these books? People haven’t been this crazy since Harry Potter and Twilight were released. As a HUGE Harry Potter nerd, I needed something to fill the void ever since the last movie came out, and I was hoping The Hunger Games might be up for the job. I never thought when Sam Hankin first handed me a copy that it would become my new favorite book of all time.

Ever since reading the first page, I was sucked into Katniss’ World. Every emotion she felt, I felt. When Katniss takes the place of her sister, Prim, for the hunger games, I cried. Like a baby. And it was only page 22.

For the next few days, when I wasn’t working, I was reading The Hunger Games. I chose it over sleep, I chose it over my boyfriend, over everything. When I got to the last book, I was scared. This would be the end of my new obsession and what was I going to do once it was over? I knew once I started it, I wouldn’t be able to stop. So it sat on my coffee table until I was ready to hear what would happen to Katniss, Peeta, and Gale. After a week, I finally opened it and started to fly through it. When I finished, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the ending. It wasn’t what I pictured, but after thinking about it for a while, I realized it was the best possible ending for it.

Most of you may think I’m crazy for feeling so strongly over a book, but those of you that have read this book will understand. (I hope!) If you haven’t read it, give it a shot. The first book is only a couple hundred pages and the most you’ll lose is a few hours, but I’ll think you’ll like it.

Those of you that have read it, and are like me, must be craving more books like it! I need my dystopian corruption! I need a new heroin to fill my Katniss void! Well I’ve been on the hunt!

Matched by Allie Condie is the first book of a series about a girl who will be matched to the perfect man for her, the perfect job, and ideally the perfect life. As the book goes on, however, she falls for someone who’s not her match and slowly starts to realize the crookedness of her world around her.

Birthmarked is the start of another series that I’ve recently fell in love with. Caragh M. O’Brien tells the story of Gaia who is a midwife, just like her mother, in the future. They live outside the wall in an area called Wharfton, but Gaia has dreamed what it’s like inside the wall, where everything looks so perfect. Every month, she and her mother have to “advance” three babies to the Enclave (the government) who will live happy lives inside the wall. When Gaia’s mother gets taken by the Enclave, Gaia starts to question why she is so loyal to a world that’s constantly trying to control everyone’s lives.

Last, but definitely not least, Divergent, by Veronica Roth is the current book I’m reading. Beatrice, or Tris, has to choose between five factions, Abnegation (the selfless), Erudite (the intelligent), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), and Amity (the peaceful). (And yes, Amazon helped me remember all of them.) She was born into Abnegation, but isn’t sure if that is the direction she wishes to go in. If she were to leave, it would mean she would be cast out by her family, but if she stays, she may live a life she isn’t destined to live. Divergent is another book I haven’t been able to put down. I picked it up this morning and all I want to do is dive back into Tris’ world.

So, point of this ridiculously long blog is that I loved The Hunger Games and needed more. I hope you guys like the three books I picked out to continue my new obsession of dystopian societies. Let me know if you found any more books that I need to check out! Stop by and visit at the book store and we can talk about The Hunger Games until we’re blue in the face. 🙂

-Brynne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s